Newbie Here - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-2009, 07:05 PM Thread Starter

Newbie Here

Howdy gang! Newbie here -- to this site that is.
I have a 2007 Kawasaki KLR-650 and a 2002 Kawasaki Concours (that I have ridden to Alaska and back, among other places) and also a Triumph Thunderbird with a side-car. Spiffy bikes, all of them, but I am having a powerful hankering for the Versys.

As you can tell I am a dyed-in-the-wool Kawasaki supporter and love their bikes because they are a) practical b) bullet-proof c) run great d) priced-right
e) "get 'er done!" So the next logical bike would be the Versys!

From the 1st time I saw it I knew it would be good and I can't say I was surprised that it won the Motorcycle of the Year! (I guess it is surprising in a sense, since it seems MOTY usually goes to liter bikes etc..)

I was sort of considering ramping down on the bikes and maybe trading the Connie in for the Versy's though the Concours is a great bike -- and still hauling buns after 40,000 miles. The problem is that I am a little concerned about the Versy's only being a 650. I think it's supposed to have 60+ horsepower (far more than the 39 the KLR has) but it is still a far cry from a liter bike -- and the comfortable power that comes with that.
Any input?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-2009, 07:56 PM
Super Moderator

Looking at your stable, I think the Versys will fill a void there, the "light, fun, flickable, twisty-gobblin', turn-me-into-a-hooligan" bike that seems to be missing. Not sure if it'll replace the Connie, but it's a great bike in it's niche. Good luck!

Welcome aboard!

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-2009, 08:27 PM