Laydown #3... - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 07:20 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Laydown #3...

Okay.. I'm really getting frustrated with this.

I have now laid down my bike three times. All while stopped or in the process of stopping. I'm a rookie, so I know I must be making a rookie mistake, but I have no idea what it is. I can't count how many times I've almost laid the bike down while coming to a stop.

I need your advise on what I'm doing wrong, because I can't get into an motorcycle safety class until May.

Here are my symptoms:

- When coming to a stop, and I mean I'm almost completely stopped, going less than 2mph, I feel the bike start to tip one way or the other. So far I've dropped the bike on the right side twice and left side once.

- Most times I can muscle it up because I haven't hit the point of no return when there is no way I'm going to stop it.

- I've passed that line now three times and dumped it on me.

What's causing that initial dip/tip? My feet are down or in the process of going down to the ground as I come to the stop. Am I putting them down too late or too early? Is my Seat Concepts seat just raising me up so high that my center of gravity is way too high?

Grrrrr.

I almost just turned around and put the bike away while kicking the crap out of it, but I'm pretty sure this is my fault and not the bike's. This last time really freaking hurt as it pinned me under the footpeg bruising my ankle up.

The only good thing is that my new crash bars worked perfectly. They are scraped up as well as my right mirror and the side of my Givi topcase, but there is no structural/mechanical damage.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

May the road always curve in front of you.

Last edited by Zatx; 03-19-2013 at 07:23 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 07:34 AM