First long trip on my V650 - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 1 Post By Gerharz14

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 09:45 AM Thread Starter

First long trip on my V650

I am looking to plan my first long camping trip on my 2017 Versys 650. Do you guys use a motorcycle specific GPS, phone with an app ( I downloaded Rever as of now) or an old school map? I am new to camping from my bike and would like to stay off the interstate as much as possible. Any advice around motocamping and travel is appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 11:38 AM
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerharz14 View Post
...Do you guys use a motorcycle specific GPS, phone with an app ( I downloaded Rever as of now) or an old school map?...
I use a non-bike specific Garmin GPS (Nuvi550) that is waterproof, and sometimes a map.

If you're interested in what I do, motorcycle camping, look thru this short ride-report:

https://www.kawasakiversys.com/forum...8-19-july.html
Gerharz14 likes this.

Ed
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 07:45 PM

I used google maps with my phone and set a way point or two to avoid roads I didn’t want to deal with. Worked great 99% of the time, if my case was more waterproof it would have been perfect. This obviously relies on cell service and a charging port.

2018 Versys 650 ABS

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 07:52 PM
Super Moderator