• 1 Post By BLACK DOG
  • 1 Post By HoosierFordMan
  • 1 Post By webmost
  • 2 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 2 Post By onewizard

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-01-2019, 01:16 PM Thread Starter

WOW...what a difference

I'm new to motorcycling. I bought a Rebel 300 last fall. It was good to learn on, but as I've posted in another thread, it vibrates WAY too much at high rpms and the seat is painfully bad. With this Rebel being the only bike I've ever ridden, I didn't know if the vibrations are due to it being a single cylinder, or if that's just how motorcycles are.

I'd been looking at the 2019 Honda CB500X models, but the USA won't get them in stock for a 'while'. (Dealerships are vague about when they'll get them in) But a dealership let me ride a used 2016 Versys 650. It was fantastic! All the vibrations were gone! And it was comfortable too! So after that test ride, I couldn't bring myself to ride the Rebel 300 anymore. Now I know not all motorcycles vibrate that much. So it was time to buy a new bike. It was down to the CB500X and the Versys 650. Upright adv style. With no idea when Honda will deliver the 2019 models to the USA, I focused on a 2018 650. So I bought the Versys, and have put about 250 miles on it. I haven't ridden the Rebel in weeks. But a guy is (hopefully) going to buy it this Sunday, and I wanted to ride it one last time to see if it's as bad as I remember it. So I went for a ride on the Versys this afternoon, then came home and immediately took the Rebel out.