90 degree valve stems and balancing beads - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By BLACK DOG

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2017, 05:49 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
90 degree valve stems and balancing beads

I have been using balancing beads for several years and found them to be great, smooth ride over the life of the tire. It is a little tricky getting them in the tire with strait valve stems.

Has anyone here used balancing beads with 90 degree stems? Was it hard to get them installed through the 90 degree valve stem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2017, 07:18 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
I've usually tried to remember to put them in before I seat the tire on the beads.
turn8a likes this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2017, 07:20 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
I've used balancing beads for years on my Valkyrie rims (with 90-degree valve stems).
I will be swapping to 90-degree stems on my Versys this winter. It already has balancing beads.

It's not any more difficult to install balancing beads through 90-degree valve stems ... just a bit slower.

I still have a full deck.
I just shuffle slower.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2017, 10:21 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Garage
The easiest way I have found is to put a crease in a sheet of paper and use the crease as a trough/guide to let beads roll into into tire before you flip last bead over rim sealing it. It's a lot easier this way than putting them in through the valve stem.
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-03-2017, 02:40 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Garage
I have 90 deg valves and the beads didn't go in... even one by one!... they kept getting stuck at the elbow... waste of time trying. even tried i on my straight stem wire wheels and still one by one!... too slow.