Handlebar replacement questions - noob here, please suggest - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 1 Post By Smiley

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 02:07 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Handlebar replacement questions - noob here, please suggest

Hey all,

I just got a 2011 Versys 650 last weekend. The handlebar on it is slightly bent inward on the brake end, apparently from a non-moving drop, by the previous owner. He even gave me a generic 7/8 replacement handlebar. I started to work on replacing and immediately realized that this one doesn't have the screw-in mechanism for the bar end sliders (weights). This new handlebar is also 1 inch shorter on either end and has a knurling on the clutch end. I tried to compare the height, width rise and sweep and except the width others seem to be pretty close. I also plan to install barkbusters storm and oxford heated grips along with the handlebars.

Questions:
1. Do you recommend buying a branded handlebar which is compatible? If so what do you recommend which is as close to stock as possible or may be a little lower (as long as I can lock the bike without hitting the tank).
2. Will I need the bar end weights even if I am installing the barkbusters storm hand guards? Looks like the one which is made to fit the 7/8 handlebars have it covered. But please correct me if I am wrong.
3. Anything else I need to be aware of? Or am I missing anything else?

Thanks much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 02:32 AM Thread Starter

I was looking at the Renthal Street Handlebars 7/8" (low or ultra low) for the replacement, if I were to buy new. Did anyone try these on their Versys?
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 04:20 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)