Low Oil Pressure - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-06-2012, 08:09 PM Thread Starter

Low Oil Pressure

Riding home tonight, oil light came on. Stopped and looked down, site glass was showing full. Light went off after a few seconds, then came back on and stayed on. Stopped at the store, bike sat parked maybe 45 minutes, came back out light was off when I started riding. But at the first light, it came on for a few seconds then went off. Dealer suspects either sensor or something plugging the filter. Guess I player "cager" for a few days while they sort it out.

'09 Candy Plasma Blue Versys 650 (the fastest color)
Givi DS 450 Windshield
SW motech engine guards
HT Teton Panniers
Acerbis handguards
Avon Distanzia tires
Garmin Zumo 665
dual power usb/12v plug
Givi trunk on custom mount

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-06-2012, 09:32 PM
Super Moderator

IF you do any 'trouble-shooting' - I suggest you check the grounds for anything related to the light or switch.

When my temp gauge started going full hot on my KLR coming back from Alaska, the problem was fixed when I cleaned up the ground connection.

Ed
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-06-2012, 09:57 PM

This may not go over well, but I have had the oil light come on in an older engine. Used seafoam as directed (ounce per quart) for 40 or so miles. Actually cleared something out because the light hasn't come on again. (about 40K miles ago - now has 195K).

If it's at the dealer - it's there. If this happened to me on a bike out of warrantee, I'd go with Seafoam first.