Handling - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-22-2012, 02:19 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Handling

Okay so here's the deal:
I've been riding for coming on 2 years now, all with the V. I use the bike as a DD, mainly running on city streets. I've tossed it through corners and what not, but never before on such a quick ride. This past weekend I went with some guys from work on a pretty spirited ride through the back roads. They all have supersports, like 675 Daytona, CBR600, etc... I knew I wouldn't be on completely equal machinery, but damn, I could not hang with them for anything. I don't know if it's the stock tires, which everyone seems to think are crap, or the weight/height of the bike, or my skill level. I've got a good number of miles under my belt and I can handle slides fine, but the front tire simply would not hook up. I think I spent more time sliding the front tire than rolling it. Pressures are fine, before and after, and there is still plenty of rubber left on them. They were warmed up too. I didn't chop the throttle mid-corner, or enter too quickly. My body position was correct, and steering input smooth. I've seen guys thrash these bikes on racetracks before, so all I can think is that these stock Duncraps are the cause. I don't know about you, but a two foot slide through an 80 mph sweeper made my rear end pucker. I've seen people saying they switched to the BS 023's, and the Mich RD 3's. They're both dual compound, which I like. Will they make that much difference for several hundred dollars?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-22-2012, 02:38 AM

my guess is yes, they will make a very big difference.

My Vee only has about 400 miles on it. But what riding I've done that pushes the tires... they don't hold worth crap. Other bikes I've had with stones on them, nothing like this. I've *always* had good traction from the stones.