Versys Riding Position Opinions - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2011, 01:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Versys Riding Position Opinions

First, I know that on a Versys forum opinions are bound to be a little biased. However, I have read many thoughtful responses on this forum specific to different types of motorcycles, so I am hoping that people with experience on a multitude of machines may be able to provide their opinion.

With that said, I am fairly new to riding and the Versys is my first motorcycle. I have a couple thousand miles on the Versys and have put it threw its paces in the mountain twisties. I have also spent a little time on a GSXR-750, Honda Shadow, and Ninja 250, but not enough time to form solid opinions.

As a downhill mountain biker, I am used to being in the "attack position", ready for anything and nicely balanced for turning, etc. When at speed, hitting the sharp mountain turns, I tend to find myself trying to get into the attack position on the Versys, but do not have much success due to the upright riding position. This, plus the height of the bike do not inspire the level of confidence in the turns I would like.

So, the question is, how about a little more aggressive positioning like on the Z1000? I know that I cannot handle the full race position of the GSXR (shattered elbow from DH keeps me from being comfortable), but the Ninja 250 position, which I consider similar to the Z1000, was quite comfortable. Does anyone have experience with these two positions (Z1000 versus Versys)? And if so, can you provide feedback on positives/negatives between the two?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2011, 02:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeardedStealth View Post