• 2 Post By silviefox
  • 3 Post By motorboy
  • 1 Post By Arion
  • 2 Post By kenr74

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-20-2017, 08:55 PM Thread Starter

Towing Versys behind a car?

Hey there!

I've been riding my 650 year around for a few years now and I just bought an old 1999 Subaru Legacy hatchback (a little lower to the ground than an outback).

I'd like to tow my versys and was originally thinking to get a trailer, but saw these.

Motorcycle Receiver Hitch Hauler Trailer Tow Dolly Carrier Kawasak Yamaha Harley

Motorcycle 2" Receiver Trailer Hitch Carrier Pull Behind Hauler Tow Towing Rack | eBay

Has anyone had any experience towing a versys with something like this or specifically these models?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-20-2017, 10:18 PM

Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to silviefox
never used one of those , tho have towed a dirt bike with the front tire strapped to the rear rack of my quad, tho when i towed my versys i did it with my little trailer that ive towed close to 100 bikes on.. get a harbor freight 4X8 4 lug folding trailer (i welded mine up so it doesnt fold anymore) and a front wheel chalk. then you can tow way more then just your bike... and if the worst happens a strap pops (have had it happen to me) you dont loose you bike into the road like you would if it was towed as a roll behind
hfjeff and crosshairs like this.

yes im a guy.
Silvie=latin for. Of the forest /woods. Fox= Vulpine (also my middle name)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"closed mindedness causes bliss in simple minded people"
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-20-2017, 10:33 PM

Garage
You would have to remove the chain-the transmission is forced lubed so without the engine running bearings and gears will not get enough oil