Want to stay in the saddle longer and more comfortably? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-07-2010, 04:58 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Want to stay in the saddle longer and more comfortably?

Add a kidney belt to your road-riding apparel.

My first kidney belt supported my guts and lower back in the 70’s during a tremendous amount of dirt bike riding. Man, do those things make offroad moto-life more enjoyable.

At some point after I started riding the pavement, I brought along the same kidney belt and found that I could ride much longer and with less fatigue whenever I wore the thing. 30 years later it is still a staple in my riding arsenal.

Basically, the belt keeps your innards from shaking around and it also supports your lower back. When I put mine on, I typically pull in my gut, tighten the wide kidney belt, and lock the hook and loop (Velcro) fasteners.

There are many choices of kidney belts, including varying degrees of additional back protection, and of course different sizes. Even though there is a greater selection of these belts available, compared to the 70’s, I’ve never found one as good as my first one. Nowadays, the majority of kidney belts are secured via hook and loop fasteners. But I find they wear out after about a year or so of heavy use and the fastening system can then detach by itself while riding.

My first one had metal hooks and metal fasteners that offered a variety of positions for different waist sizes. Like the modern versions, this one also included some elastic fabric so the belt would give a little as you straddled your seat, and because of the metal hooks and metal fasteners back then, the snug fit just wouldn’t detach.