Too much fuel Consumption! - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 09:17 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Too much fuel Consumption!

Hey,

I have a '10 new versys model (with 3.000km in it) and it's spending fuel like a crazy horse!!! it's spending 7l/100km, or, MPG: 32.8 .

My riding is only in town, doing 8km twice or 4 times a day, with a LOT of stops due to Traffic light.

Can anyone tell me some tips ou tricks to reduced in a bit (lot) this consumption?

Best regards!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 09:24 AM

I would be interested to know also since mine has dropped from 380kms to 340kms a tank...not a big drop but the other day I ran out of fuel due to this.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 09:34 AM

I'm not a scientist, but I've read that increased ethanol content will decrease kpg/mpg. My understanding is that the ethanol does not burn as well as gasoline (or something like that). Therefore, the engine runs less efficiently. Has there been a recent change in gasoline/ethanol mixture? I have always had about 48 mpg with a mix of highway/town riding.

In the US, I believe current ethanol content is about 10%. As long as I've been riding, the ethanol content has been the same. I recently read that the US government will allow a 20% ethanol content in the fairly near future. Gas stations will need to clearly indicate what pumps are using the 20% mixture, as this will adversely effect many older vehicles.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.