1st "Street" bike recommendations - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-17-2010, 08:30 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
1st "Street" bike recommendations

Hello Guys (and Gals),

I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I'm looking for your input and guidance here please...

I'm looking for my first true street bike and need some thoughts on what to consider.

A little background on me... I received my first bike in 1975 when I was 12. It was a 1975 Kawasaki MC90 trail bike. I grew and progressed into MX and race competatively from 1980-1984 and reached the "A" class. I went without a bike until 2002 when I got back into dirt bikes again as a "Vet" rider. With 3 boys to support, my racing days are over.

I went and received my MC endorcement and bought a 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing and installed a motard setup. I rode it a few times on the street and decided the maintenance on a racing 4 stroke was too much for the time spent riding. Don't get me wrong, this bike was the BOMB and fantastic to ride!

Now, I'm looking for my first true street bike. I'm 5'9", 170 lbs with little street experience. I don't think I want to go the sport bike route (I want to be comfortable), so I'm trying to decide if I should get a cruiser or a bike like the Versys.

I was considering a used Honda Shadow - 600 VLX or 750 until I was crusing down Daytona yesterday during Biketober fest and saw a green Versys cruise past me.

So, please share your thoughts. I plan to ride to work, cruise the Bike weeks, drive down 75 miles each way when I pick up my son for 1-on-1 visitation weekends an join some rides from time to time.

What direction should I go?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions and comments.

Shaun
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-17-2010, 08:42 AM