Changing tires - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2010, 09:32 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Changing tires

I noticed today that I have just started to wear throught my rear tire in the center, so I guess I should start working on getting it replaced. With a little over 9k miles I'm pretty happy with how the stock tire held up.

I've been changing dirt bike tires since I was a kid and when we raced moto I was putting new tires on or turning them around for the next race on a weekly basis. Changed hundreds of tires, but never delt with a street bike tire.

So I'm wondering is tire swapping on the V a DIY project similar to dirt tires? Or is this better left to a shop with tire changing equiptment?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2010, 09:54 PM

If you can do dirt bike tires, you can easily do Street tires. I have been doing mine since I started riding again in 2003. I use the HF tire changer, mostly to just hold the wheel. Then I use Tire irons, and Rim savers. Then Balance with the Marc Parnes balancer. I have at my disposal 2 Automatic changers and still prefer to do it manually.

Todd
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2010, 10:11 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Yeah it's about as easy as it was on my WR426... I preheat the tires first in the sauna, then only need tire irons. I also balance it by hand.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2010, 10:29 PM

I have done it twice so far.

I am using a rim breaker built out of 2x4.

Once the bead is broken I use tire irons and stripes of plastic (laundry detergent bottle) to protect my rims.

I am balancing the wheels with my rear axle on a support with 4 roller bearing.

Charles Leblanc
2007 Versys
Givi Windshield and side case
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2010, 11:11 PM