RPM's - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 02:56 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
RPM's

As I've found a lot of good information on the Forum and as this is my first year riding a 2009 Versys and only my second riding a motorcycle (2009 Kawasaki KLX 250 SF) I'm wondering . . . as I'm more fully utilizing the powerband does it do any harm to the engine or have no effect if I'm going (for example) 45 MPH at 4500 RPM in one gear or the same speed at 6500 RPM in another gear given that the engine is not lugging and I'm not approaching or breaking the redline. Is it strictly rider preference? Hope this makes sense. As I stated I figured this was the right place to go as from what I can tell there's a lot of experience represented here on the Forum. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 03:09 PM

I prefer to stay at 5500 rpms for extended periods. At 45 mph I would probably keep it at 4500 rpms.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 03:11 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Only answer I can give you is, that running in a gear other than 6th for a LO-O-ONG time might cause premature wear in the trans, and the engine MIGHT wear out a bit sooner. Ride in the gear (and revs) that work for YOU, and with the exception of riding everywhere in 1st gear at screaming revs, that should work.

Ed
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 04:33 PM