"Shape" of the stock rear tire... - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-03-2010, 11:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
"Shape" of the stock rear tire...

Okay, first let me say that I am relatively new to the Versys ( had it year yesterday, about 3k miles so far ) and that my previous ( and first ) bike was a metric cruiser. One of the reasons I went to the Versys was that I wanted something that was a lot more responsive that the foot-forward cruiser bikes. That being said, it's taking me a lot longer to get used to the lean on this bike, it seems really squirrelly in the corners and it seems to 'fall' into the turns much faster than I am comfortable with.

Which brings me to my question : Is it normal for the real tire to have a 'squared off' center section? It appears to have a definite ridge on either side ( and no, it's not wear, the square part of the tire is HIGHER than the rest of the tire ) and I am thinking that this might be the reason why it's so twitchy during the lean, it falls off on the line and just feels wrong. I asked the boys at the dealership during the last inspection and they didn't seem to think it was anything unusual but I don't remember anything like this on my previous bike's ( new ) rear tire.

Toys : 2009 Versys ( Blue ), 2006 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Needs : 2016 Mazda CX-5 ( RIP Mazda5 ), 2007 Honda Civic
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-04-2010, 02:38 AM

How about posting some clear pics?
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-04-2010, 06:56 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
( and no, it's not wear, the square part of the tire is HIGHER than the rest of the tire )

Usually square off in the centre of the tires are due to running on straight roads and or very little lean on the sides.

Your case its the opposite as the side have worn off excessively than the centre part. Are you doing twisters all the time.