Any suggestions for better riding skill & cornering? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-28-2010, 10:14 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Any suggestions for better riding skill & cornering?

I'm still a newbie-- All of 450 miles on the V purchased last spring. I get out when I can & took a nice 20 mile ride this afternoon. Discovered my rubber isolating of the inner cowl totally eliminated the dreaded cowling buzz (see sticky in the technical board for my summary & pics).

I realize that I am weakest at cornering. Hard to admit it, but leaning makes me rather nervous. I've been doing some research & have been watching the "A twist of the wrist" DVD. Picked up a few tricks on throttle input, lines to take, etc., but am still nervous. Don't like being on the outside of curves as oncoming motorists tend to come close or cross over. Seen that happen to others with horrific results.

Any suggestions, books, DVDs or the like? I took the basic motorcycle course, which helped even though I've ridden dirt bikes as a kid.

Thanks to all in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-28-2010, 10:23 PM

Have you read through this thread? It may answer some of your questions. In the meantime, one question for you; where are you looking as you corner, how far in front of the bike?
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-28-2010, 10:25 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Well, get a lot of reading done and understand what happens to you and the bike when on conner,s.

My best advice since you have done enough reading and research is to get a good riding buddy to help you out. Don,t do it alone.
When I cam back to biking after a long absence it was Stlee29 and MYRED who guided me and gave me confidence. Now I am confident in twisters and almost don't touch the brakes.