Warmup times after breakin...how long? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-26-2010, 04:24 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Warmup times after breakin...how long?

My V is my first bike so I'm brand new to anything motorcycle related. I know that during the breakin period I was told to let the bike warm up completely before I took off. I would usually wait until it changed from the fast to slow idle, then I would take off.

Now that my break in period is done, how long do you usually wait for the bike to be warmed up? Do I need to wait for the fast idle to slow? Or if I start it up and then just put on my helmet and gloves and then hop on, is that enough time? I'm sure it probably differs when it's been sitting cold all night as opposed to sitting off for an hour during lunch, right?

So how long do you guys wait, if at all?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-26-2010, 04:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchristian79 View Post
My V is my first bike so I'm brand new to anything motorcycle related. I know that during the breakin period I was told to let the bike warm up completely before I took off. I would usually wait until it changed from the fast to slow idle, then I would take off.

Now that my break in period is done, how long do you usually wait for the bike to be warmed up? Do I need to wait for the fast idle to slow? Or if I start it up and then just put on my helmet and gloves and then hop on, is that enough time? I'm sure it probably differs when it's been sitting cold all night as opposed to sitting off for an hour during lunch, right?

So how long do you guys wait, if at all?
I let it warm up everytime, just seems like a good precaution.

My Album:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-26-2010, 06:24 PM

Just like a car, you do not need to warm it up.