Auto switch -- newbie - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2010, 09:28 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Auto switch -- newbie

Hi Guys! I'm new to this forum, new to the Versys, new to motorcycling. I got my '09 Versys in January and have been riding it as my only transportation ever since. What an awesome first bike!

Anyways, I bought the auto switch AS5PG2 so I can use my turn signal cancel to open the garage. I've got it the white/black wires soldered to the remote and have tested it (hooked up black wire to the frame, red to the positive terminal on the battery, then tapped the yellow/red wire twice on the positive battery terminal) and it worked great. Unfortunately, I've never done anything like this before and so I'm not sure how to move on from here.

So, I have the following questions:
1. How do I get to the wire for the turn signal cancel button? Seems like I might need to remove the fuel tank... Is that right? I do have the service manual (pdf) and see how to remove the tank, but I really don't want to do that just yet if I don't have to.

2. Once I get to the wire bundles, how do I test to find the right wire?

3. Once I find the right wire, how do I splice the wire from the auto switch into it? Do I need something like a PosiTap?

I realize these are probably alarmingly basic questions and I should probably just take it to a shop to get the work done, but I really want to learn so I figured I'd ask here so as not to screw up my beautiful bike . So, can anyone help?

Thanks,

Brendon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2010, 09:33 PM

I can't answer for #1 but I can't imagine you'd have to go through that much trouble to find the right wire for this type of install...however, I could be completely wrong.