• 1 Post By dlars
  • 1 Post By dlars
  • 2 Post By dlars

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 08:34 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
whine at speed

Coming from a belt drive cruiser I am fairly new to chain drive bikes and I have 5000 km on my 19 Versys 1000 now. The chain is adjusted to about 35 mm slack, and is well lubricated and aligned with the front sprocket. Starting at about 75 km/hr I start to get some whine from the rear and it continues to increase in pitch depending on speed. It seems to decrease when I pull the clutch in but I think I am hearing tire/hwy noise at that point. I'm just wondering if all chain drive bikes have a certain amount of chain driveline noise, etc.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 09:37 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Got a whirring, high-frequency metallic noise that doesnít seem related to engine speed? Look to your drive chain. A healthy chain is noisy anyway, but you shouldnít be able to hear it yourself while youíre riding along. A vibration or clanking (sometimes felt though foot pegs too) signifies tight spots or stiff links. You should thoroughly clean your chain and inspect for stuck links, loose rollers and excess stretch. If thatís all OK, make sure itís properly aligned and adjusted. Lubricate with decent lube on the inside run first, preferably when the chain is warm. If you find any tight spots, stiff links or have run out of adjustment then the time has come to ditch the chain and invest in a fresher (quieter) new one.
https://www.motorcyclenews.com/advic...ise-diagnosis/

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 09:42 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Garage
How are you checking chain alignment? I know on the 650s, the hash marks on the swingarm aren't right. If you go by them, the rear wheel is most likely crooked. Not sure if thats the case on the 1000 also.

I don't care what you ride, just ride.