US West Tour -- Riding Gear Recommendations - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 05:18 PM Thread Starter

US West Tour -- Riding Gear Recommendations

Beginning in Arizona in the month of June, I will be touring throughout various US states in roughly 4'ish weeks. The states include Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, Washington, Oregon, California . . .

I'm packing as light as possible, focused on functionality and within a reasonable budget, for I am a student still attending university. I have a helmet (no visor) and gloves and jacket (a sporty-esc Joe Rocket). For boots I was thinking my everyday, above-the-ankle hiking boots. Otherwise, any recommendations on riding boots/shoes? Will the jacket and helmet suffice?

My main question is this, however: Any recommendations on pants and/or protective gear? The southwest will be hot, and the northwest may get occasional showers. I am not packing numerous pants for various climates -- I want one that will tackle the elements, keep me mostly dry in a shower, and not make me sweat too much when under the sun.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 06:35 PM

Frogg Toggs work pretty good and are not too expensive.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 08:36 PM

Waterproof cycle boots that are comfortable to walk in would be a must, and a rain suit.
A dry bag for your gear should round things out.

2014 Valkyrie 1800

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 10:14 PM

How much of a budget are you on?

I'm sure it can be done cheaper than I go, but I budget at least $50/day that includes gas, food, camping and the occasional treating myself to a good burger somewhere.