Helmet speakers - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-04-2014, 08:35 AM Thread Starter

Helmet speakers

My helmet preference has been with Nolan ever since I started riding. I like flip-face helmets because I wear glasses, I like the ratcheting chinstrap you can take on and off easily with gloves, like the pinlock, etc. They've also proven themselves to work as I was t-boned by a Cadillac. So I've been loyal and recommend them.

Nolan has their N-Com system for some of their helmets, seems like a cool concept. Built in pockets for speakers, mic, controls mount outside the helmet. Very slick, but prohibitively expensive for me. So I never got to take advantage of any of that.

Was trolling around for something unrelated on Amazon and found these from Skull Candy:

http://www.amazon.com/Smith-Optics-Skullcandy-Communication-Accessories/dp/B0041PPYX8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1396617716&sr=8-1&keywords=skull+candy+smith+optics
They have more than one option, they have bluetooth ones, wired, wired with controls. Meant for some snowboard helmet.

I finally found just the speakers for $24 with free shipping. So I jumped on that as I thought, "Maybe these could be made to fit my helmet"

Got them and discovered the pockets in the helmet's foam were not wide enough to accept these Skull Candy speakers. So I got out the dremel and with a cone shaped grinding bit got to widening the pocket. Took my time and nibbled away at it till I got a snug fit. Routed a bit of a spot for the wire to go too.

Once it was all done held it firmly in place with a bit of Gorilla Tape (that stuff is great, better than duct tape... forgive me my redneck brethren).

Ran the cable out of the hole provided by Nolan for their own system, plugged the hole back in with the provided cap.

Put it on and plugged it in to my phone. Good sound quality too, can comfortably hear over my Leo Vince exhaust.