clothing- jackets and pants - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-20-2008, 10:39 AM Thread Starter

clothing- jackets and pants

I’m a novice rider and I am looking to get a good jacket and possibly pants for around-ish $350 total. Quality matters to me. I hear good things about textile but also some good things about leather, this brand that brand etc etc.

Since I can always replace the bike if anything ever happens that is not the case with me, any advice or reviews of jackets etc would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-20-2008, 11:14 AM

i have both leather and textile gear, but would suggest textile, as it will be more weather resistant, and easier to clean.. leather gets cold and stays cold, textile does a better, job, get a jacket with a full length zip out liner, and above all get one with CE armor, not just foam padding, riding pants with same features is nice, and full length zippers down the sided so you can wear them over your pants or shorts and are easily removeable, check ebay for some nice clean used gear, many people sell this stuff in almost new condition for half price.....ps. make sure you know your sizes before you buy!
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-20-2008, 12:25 PM

Leathers are nice but I also prefer Textile but you need some good quality stuff.

try newenough for some things.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2008, 12:34 AM

I'm a newbie too and I did a lot of talkin' to people before I even went to the store. Most folks said textile, for the versitility and functionality. The multi-season jacket and pants have already come in handy here in Oregon - the weather went from 90 yesterday to 60 and rain today. Everyone said to make sure the armor was CE rated.