Polarized Sunglasses and helmet visor - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 11:27 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Polarized Sunglasses and helmet visor

I wear prescription polarized sunglasses and absolutely love them. The polarizing cuts down on the glare so much its amazing. I recently started riding and got a scorpion exo 1100 helmet and the visor (like most brands) says it is optically correct. Yet, I still get a rainbow hue with the visor down. This is only with my polarized sunglasses in case someone tries to say I have a bad visor. I asked my local shop where I bought the helmet and they called up the distributor who said this is common with all helmet visors and polarized glasses.

Has anyone else experienced this? Any replacement visors that don't give a rainbow effect? Is it just this helmet?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 11:33 PM

Yup. I get the rainbow with both my Shoei and Arai. You ill get this with any cured polycarbonate surface.

I just went with a dark visor and wear my regular glasses.

2009 Kawasaki Versys
SWM Engine Guard; Windscreen de Jour on a MadStad bracket; Motowerk Peg Lowering kit & Stand Big Foot; ProTaper ATV Low bars; Stebel horn; KTM Duals Rear Rack; Coocase 36L topcase...and more to come

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 11:35 PM Thread Starter

Which eliminates the polarized advantage unfortunately.

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 11:38 PM

Yup. But I found the rainbows seriously distracting.

2009 Kawasaki Versys
SWM Engine Guard; Windscreen de Jour on a MadStad bracket; Motowerk Peg Lowering kit & Stand Big Foot; ProTaper ATV Low bars; Stebel horn; KTM Duals Rear Rack; Coocase 36L topcase...and more to come