Macna Geo jacket review - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-01-2013, 01:32 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Macna Geo jacket review (vs Rukka suit)

Ok so I've been using Rukka suits for over 6 years now, just bought my 2nd one last year for around 1100$ (just the jacket, pants were around 800$). I preferred my previous Rukka jacket. On the new one, when I started riding with it, a few things started annoying me. Collar that lets cold air in your back, and in hot weather no vents (yes thats a 1100$ jacket, no vents) so it gets freakin' hot. Basically very comfortable when riding between 15 and 25C but sizing wasnt as good as previous one.

I'm selling my Rukka suit, it should cover the price of this new Macna suit. With Macna you do need to order one size up, as their sizing is small, I usually wear Large and the XL is slightly snug when I put all liners in. Without the winter liner, it fits like a glove, sleeves are long enough, collar can be closed enough so air doesnt make it in, and you can remove part of the front and back to expose mesh. I just tried it and it's freakin' awesome you can really feel the air go through while still having way more protection then a mesh jacket. The only downside is the waterproof liner is not laminated directly to the shell. But then again at that price, I can live with that tiny inconvenience and will appreciate it when it's really hot.

This Geo jacket is almost 700$ less then what I paid for my Rukka...and it has about 10 times the features. It's designed in the Netherlands...they seem to know a thing or 2 about temperature fluctuations and precipitations. Plenty of customers are super satisfied with Rukka gear, but for me it was my last experience with them, simply not worth the price considering what you get for it. If you want a Rukka jacket I suggest you buy a used one then you'll get your money's worth.