• 1 Post By Mossyrocks13k
  • 1 Post By Psjeff
  • 1 Post By SteveJ

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 09:22 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Garage
Android & iPhone Apps for Motorcycling?

I can't help but feel the dedicated and expensive motorcycle GPS units are becoming redundant and obsolete due to the fact most of us are now carrying around a waterproof and vibration proof computer with significant processing power and built-in GPS and motion sensors.

Looking for software suggestions (Android). What software/apps do you people use for trip planning on a computer, running routes on your phone, navigation, performance monitoring, maintenance tracking, etc.?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 01:21 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
I'm no GPS expert believe me, but I'm running OsmAnd on a waterproof/shockproof Kyocera phablet (entirely off-line) as a dedicated GPS unit for my bike. ADVrider has an excellent sub-forum on GPS, which has several huge threads on using cell phones, including how to go off-line: https://advrider.com/f/forums/gps-10...gps-for-me.75/
twowheels and 16VGTIDave like this.

2015 Versys 650 ABS
AMA, MSTA, Retreads

Nat'l Cycle "Sport-Touring" screen; Givi hand guards; BMW Sport Grips; Omni-Cruise throttle lock; Motowerk mirror extenders, side stand foot & highway pegs; Denali Mini Soundbomb horn; SW-Motech top rack, Quick-Lock Evo side racks, wide foot pegs & GPS shelf; Givi E-22 side cases & V-47 top case; RKA 13L Shiloh Road tank bag; Hyper-Lites; Sargent seat; Shoodaben ECU reflash; decalectomy.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 04:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by twowheels View Post
I can't help but feel the dedicated and expensive motorcycle GPS units are becoming redundant and obsolete due to the fact most of us are now carrying around a waterproof and vibration proof computer with significant processing power and built-in GPS and motion sensors.