• 1 Post By Devilsfan
  • 1 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 2 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 1 Post By RVerde

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-08-2018, 02:00 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
My new HJC RPHA

I've been doing as much research as possible for the last 4+ months on helmets. I wanted a full-face helmet that has the best airflow while maintaining a "Sport Touring-style" helmet. I preferred to have a drop-down sun visor. Colors didn't really matter, so as long as it wasn't white, hi-viz (they fade fast!), or any of those teenage-like/sports bike rider/themed graphics. I hoped for something "quiet" but again, doing research, even the best reviewers were reminding me that you're on a motorcycle and there really isn't a "quiet" motorcycle helmet, only "quiet-er" helmet!

I have a few helmets already of different brands and styles. I didn't want to break the bank either as some of my best helmets are the Bilt brand (Cycle Gear) helmets and they're extremely well-priced.

So, after searching and searching the best one I found for what I was looking for was the HJC RPHA-70 ST. I already have 2 HJC's from years ago when I bought my 2003 Volusia. They aren't bad helmets but they're full faced and very noisy. (Plus very outdated at this point)

Anyway, these helmets go for $360-$380 for the standard, single-color helmets. So I rode down to my dealer in Tampa. They only had the RPHA's in the Grandal style, which is $400+. After speaking with my parts guy (he always takes care of me!) I told him I wanted the RPHA but just didn't want to pay the extra $$$ for a funky painted helmet. Since he didn't have any solid colors in stock he said he'd sell me the Grandal for the solid color price and give me a 10% discount. I said, "Box it up!".

I settled on the black and white HJC RPHA-0 ST Grandal. Final cost after taxes - $375.00

(Yeah, I cought some bugs on the way home!)