Newbie seeks gear advice. Is Hi Viz worth it? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-01-2012, 11:51 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Newbie seeks gear advice. Is Hi Viz worth it?

I'm thinking of getting some Hi Viz gear. First, as my earlier introduction thread stated. I'm new to motorcycling and do not currently own a bike yet. But I do want to get my gear ready for my bike purchase. I'm looking at getting a jacket, pants, boots, gloves and helmet.

A major consideration for me is the weather where I live. I'm in Mobile, Alabama, which if you're not familiar, is the extreme southern part of Alabama on the Gulf coast. We deal with near 100 percent humidity most of the year. Summer temps can hit as high as 100 degrees or a little more with heat index. Winter temps are usually no lower than the 30s. It may dip into the 20s a couple of times per year, but I'm not going to be commuting on my bike and can easily just not ride on the coldest days if I want. It does rain during a good bit here in Mobile. So waterproofing is needed.

Ok, as far as the Hi Viz stuff goes. I'm considering at the Joe Rocket Alter Ego 3.0 Jacket. It seems to really fit most of my needs. My question is; Is the Hi Viz yellow color that much more visible than the Red/Black color combo. I can get a Hi-viz yellow jacket and helmet. Ultimately I want to be as visible as possible. But if the Red is just as visible I'd choose it. (Roll Tide!).

I'll include a link below. Please help with your opinions.

http://www.motorcyclegear.com/street...le_jacket.html

The other gear I'm looking at is:

Joe Rocket Alter Ego 2.0 Pants

http://www.motorcyclegear.com/street...overpants.html

Icon Reign Waterproof Boots

http://www.motorcyclegear.com/street...oof_boots.html

Joe Rocket Phoenix 4.0 Gloves

http://www.motorcyclegear.com/street...le_gloves.html

HJC Sy-Max III Helmet