Gear and equipment performance review after 1000km - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:26 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Gear and equipment performance review after 1000km

I'm trowing this out there for whom ever may find it useful.
A few weeks ago I took a 1000km trip in a variety of whether conditions (heat, rain, cold, wind, sea level to 2000m etc.) and this is how my equipment and I faired.

To start from the top:
  • Helmet: Schuberth S1. Perhaps the best bit of kit I have. I've been using it for two years now and it even saved my head in a collision with a car. I wear it for 5 hours in complete comfort. No fogging and not a drop of water penetrates it.

• Neck warmer/scarf: Buff. Nice and simple. A lot of uses. Never leave home without it.

• Jacket: Rev'it Sirocco. Very comfortable, well vented and usable from 0℃ to 40℃. It's a bit tight with liners (thermal and waterproof) in place and loose without them. Reasonably water-resistant but not water-proof. My shoulders were wet after two hours in the rain. After a year and half of use there is a little fraying and velcro is getting weaker in a few places. Overall feeling is that it would not excel in a heavy crash.

• Back protector: Dainese Back Shield. Whole day comfort and it keeps my kidneys warm. Velcro adjusters were completely worn after a year. I don't intend to crash test it.

• Gloves: Richa GP. I was never mad about these but they are comfortable and appear protective. They have a lot of airflow and hands become cold bellow 20 ℃. After two years they still look fine. I use rain over-gloves with them when it's wet and cold.