Need to Purchase New Gear - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 07:39 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Need to Purchase New Gear

OK, I need some help, I need to purchase new gear for my new Versys and me, I am new in the touring area. Funds limited so I need to get the best at the best price. (1) Tank bag to fit the Versys (I have hard cases) (2) Boots (3) Summer gear, rain and sun. What works best (4) Winter Gear. A tall order I know, but maybe someone can guide me in the right direction. You guys that ride alot, can save me a few years and maybe keep me dry.lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 08:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebyte View Post
Funds limited so I need to get the best at the best price.
Not trying to be a wise arse by saying this. Good gear is not cheap. Cheap gear will let you down. What you are looking for is probably not the best gear but adequate gear for a reasonable price. You will get many opinions on the jackets, gloves, boots, etc. It will get overwhelming. What works for me, may not for you.

As far as apparel, go shopping at as many dealers and bike stores as you can find within a reasonable distance. I would try on a bunch of stuff and see what fits, what works, and what don't. Shoot for a mid price "whatever".

Over the years, I have continued to spend higher dollars for better gear and have not been disappointed. I try on lots of brands and sizes and do not settle for sub-par fitment. You will know when you find something that fits you well and works for you.

post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 08:15 PM Thread Starter

Thanks, good advice, I understand the "You get what you pay for deals" Rather be comforable and dry than cold and wet trying to get somewhere. I am too old for that, been there done that.. Thanks again

post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 08:47 PM