Trip odometers wont re-set? Dammit - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Register Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Motorcycle EscrowInsurance
Go Back   Kawasaki Versys Forum > Kawasaki Versys Motorcycle Talk > General Kawasaki Versys Discussions

 

General Kawasaki Versys Discussions For discussions on anything and everything related to the Kawasaki Versys.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2013, 09:28 AM
aka Yamadog's Avatar
aka Yamadog aka Yamadog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 413
Default Trip odometers wont re-set? Dammit

Hey, whats the secret to get the cotton picking trip meters to reset? I know its nitpicking. I'm behind the times due to me working out of town the last 3 years and not riding. But I'm going to ride this year. Do I need to get a bicycle computer? I noticed it seemed to take longer to re-set while holding down the reset button. Now it does not reset at all. Any ideas?
__________________
Mine's Green

Last edited by aka Yamadog; 03-10-2013 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:54 AM
weljo2001's Avatar
weljo2001 weljo2001 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ft.Worth,TX. Norwalk CA
Posts: 10,323
Default

http://www.kawasakiversys.com/forums...t=reset+button


I just use my GPS for accurate readings.



.
__________________
2009 Blue Versys. Sold

My Farkles......http://www.kawasakiversys.com/forums...ad.php?t=20013
My Video Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/weljo2001?feature=mhee
My Photos...http://www.flickr.com/photos/54181788@N06/sets/

I'm not a Gynecologist. "But I'll Take A Look"

Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth...
Mike Tyson

"Ya'll can go to hell, I'm goin' to Texas!"...Davey Crockett
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2013, 11:12 AM
aka Yamadog's Avatar
aka Yamadog aka Yamadog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 413
Default

Thanks! I guess all that sitting in the garage didn't help much
__________________
Mine's Green

Last edited by aka Yamadog; 03-10-2013 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2013, 06:42 PM
DK35vince DK35vince is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: western,pa.
Posts: 133
Default

I am having the same problem (trip meter will not reset)
__________________
2009 Kawasaki Versys
2007 Honda XR 650L
2005 Kawasaki Brute Force 750
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2013, 07:43 PM
Capn Kirk's Avatar
Capn Kirk Capn Kirk is offline
Member
 
2010 Kawasaki Versys
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 4,707
Default

Here E-nigma (post #1) suggested cutting a piece of heat sleeve (I used a straw) and sliding it around the center portion of the switch to reduce the annoying rattle at certain RPM'S. I did just that and sprayed some contact cleaner on the contacts while I was in there (preventative maintenance). Never had an issue.

I suggest doing both while you have the speedo assembly out!

Photos below were originally posted by E-nigma. See link above to see the original thread.



__________________
www.rockthegear.org

Versys Owners/Riders Map Here.

Add your name and see who's near you!

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2013, 08:37 PM
gossamer's Avatar
gossamer gossamer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Space Coast,FL
Posts: 28
Default

A squirt of CRC electronic cleaner fixed mine.

....carefully pry off the rubber boot first
__________________
Crap I've bolted on...(that didn't vibrate off) thanks Versys Forum
Speedy's lowering kit
Fuzeblocks' block
BadBoy Horn
Rapid Transit Recon 19 tank bag
Givi- PLX447,V46, D405ST
Renthal 44t rear sprocket
Spiegler front and rear lines
Nuvi 550
Homemade/Ram GPS mount
Silvania Silverstar Ultra high/low
Seat Concepts (foam and cover)
Aprilia mirrors
Aerostitch heated grips (Florida does have 1 cold day per year)

Last edited by gossamer; 03-10-2013 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2013, 01:25 AM
marc marc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: sandpoint, id.
Posts: 45
Default

i had my speedometer unit replaced under warranty for this problem. now the replacement is doing the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2013, 08:50 AM
aka Yamadog's Avatar
aka Yamadog aka Yamadog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc View Post
i had my speedometer unit replaced under warranty for this problem. now the replacement is doing the same thing.
I was considering taking mine to the stealer for replacement under my GTPP warranty but I don't think I can let them molest the bike that way.
__________________
Mine's Green
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisements
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum