Gear Indicator ? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Register Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Motorcycle EscrowInsurance
Go Back   Kawasaki Versys Forum > Kawasaki Versys Motorcycle Talk > Technical Discussion

Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Old 08-30-2010, 10:54 PM

Post Gear Indicator ?

As a newbie, I was wondering if people purchase electronic gear indicators for their Versys? If so, what kind and how much? Or is this just for newbies?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2010, 12:13 AM

I have the GI Pro indicator. I like not always trying to shift into 7th on the highway. Also it is nice to know how many gears I need to downshift for a particular turn.

Here is a link to my installation.
http://www.kawasakiversys.com/forums...ight=indicator
Givi racks with V35 sides, and V46 Top-case, Garmin Zumo 450 GPS, Powermadd Handguards, Motowerks GPS Mount, Peg Lowering kit, Flat Foot, Arrow Exhaust, Adjustable Levers, GIPro Gear Indicator, Oxford Heated Grips
Old 08-31-2010, 12:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketman View Post
As a newbie, I was wondering if people purchase electronic gear indicators for their Versys? If so, what kind and how much? Or is this just for newbies?
You don't need one. Ride some more, get familiar with the bike - where it has power and where it purrs - and match yer gear to yer need.
Old 08-31-2010, 12:55 AM

Uh, yeah. A noob thing.
Once you get a couple'a thousand miles on 'er you'll know what gear you're in based on speed and rpm. That's why the freakin' tach is so big. Keep 'er revving and you won't run out of gears. The loafers put 16T counters on and look for 7th gear.
Let it sing.
Old 08-31-2010, 01:13 AM

2007 Kawasaki Versys

I am a Nooby, but a numerate one, so have worked out the speedo speed to tacho ratios that work for me.

What follows is metric, but I see you are in Manitoba, so should apply to you (unless you keep your speed in Imperial)