Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Little Help with a Lake Superior Circle Tour Please

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  Slow-Steady 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone,

I'm starting to plan ahead for a Lake Superior Circle Tour for early next summer, maybe June. It is going to be a small group (6-8, with 2 being Trikes) and myself being the least experienced rider. I just started riding this summer and have about 3,000 miles on. Everyone else is 5+ year riders, some well over 25 and and age range of 25 to 75.

I'm just starting to plan the route and I'm looking for a little insight from others who have done it, or live along the route.

It will be a 4 day trip, starting and ending in Ashland, WI.

Day 1:
329 Miles from Ashland, WI to Nipigon, ON with some time spent in Thunder Bay.

Day 2:
367 Miles from Nipigon, ON to Sault Ste. Marie, MI.

Day 3:
310 Miles from Sault Ste. Marie to L'Anse, MI with a detour taking 77 north to Grand Maris and Co. Rd 58 back down to Munising along the way. I rode 58 this year and it is a fun road to ride, definitely don't want to miss it.

Day 4:
280 Miles from L'Anse back to Ashland, WI with a trip up and back the Keweenaw Peninsula.

I have checked and there are hotels in all the towns listed. It is a fairly even breakdown of the miles over the four days with the second say being a little bit of a turn and burn compared to the others.

My next step is to see who is going and the fuel range of their bikes so I can plan wayside / scenic overlook stops and gas stops.

I am also going to make a checklist of things for everyone to bring: Pasport, credit cards and cash, toll fees, water bottle and snacks, dark and clear glasses, .. etc.

I will have daily maps and routes printed for everyone, but I'm not sure who the group leader will be. I know I have the least experience but I think I'll be up for it and if not, I know one other group member who would do a fine job.