Google malware warning popped up... [Archive] - Kawasaki Versys Forum

: Google malware warning popped up...


Lukejt
07-14-2009, 01:17 PM
a few times today warning about ********.com while browsing this website. See below;




Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for ********.com

What is the current listing status for ********.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 3 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 3 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2009-07-08, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2009-07-08.
Malicious software includes 9 scripting exploit(s).

Malicious software is hosted on 2 domain(s), including martuz.cn/, 94.247.2.0/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS32742 (4).

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, ********.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.

brothercannon
07-14-2009, 01:41 PM
what does "********.com" have to do with this forum? I checked out the site and I got a security warning.

Lukejt
07-14-2009, 02:08 PM
what does "********.com" have to do with this forum? I checked out the site and I got a security warning.

Probably they have an ad here somewhere.

Bear on a bicycle
07-14-2009, 03:23 PM
Well, maybe we should alert the authorities... I'll hit the report button & let Jman know. I haven't experienced any malware from this site, but that doesn't mean it can't happen...

JimJim
07-14-2009, 03:30 PM
My AV detected a trojan horse last night called "Infostealer". Came from a website but don't know which one.

Jman423
07-14-2009, 05:10 PM
A user on the site has hosted some pics on their personal webspace, and it appears that maybe that webspace is infected. You should only see these errors on pages that 08 Versys has posted in. We are working to take care of this.

Thanks :thumb:

Jman423
07-14-2009, 06:29 PM
OK, I think we got it sorted out. If I had to guess, that guy's website got hacked, and since he had some links and images posted from here to his website, I think your AV systems were doing their job and not wanting to allow you to access that threat.

We have removed all traces of that URL, but unfortunately, some of his links and pictures are invalid now.

Please be sure to let us know if you encounter any more warnings, but we don't think you will (hopefully)

Bear on a bicycle
07-14-2009, 06:42 PM
How's THAT for an answer!!

:clap:

...now if we could get our government to respond that fast.

:D


:usa:

VeeWNC
07-15-2009, 09:43 AM
That is getting to be a real problem all across the web. Our host (wss.com) got hacked a couple of months ago and a lot of sites, including mine, were briefly taken over by the low life hackers. The old image of some kid sitting in front of a computer, typing away to work their way into a site, is outdated. Now, a lot of the hacking is done by robotic programs, such as the one that put a phone spam message on this one recently. The robots cruise the web looking for forums or other features that allow general participation, and when they find one, they flood it with spam or worse. Having the password registration feature really helps, but some of the hackers now have figured out how to get around that as well.
It's a constant battle as site managers try to stay one step ahead of the hackers. Unfortunately, most webmasters have to use commercial hosts since it's not practical to manage a private server for a single site, so they're at the mercy of their hosts. Some hosts are much better than others. wss used to be one of the best, but the business was sold and the new owners aren't as competent at fending off intruders. When I called wss after finding that our site had been hijacked, the 'tech' that answered after I waited for over 30 minutes sounded like she was stoned. "Wow, that's unusual! Ummm, not sure what causes it..." WTF??? We're moving on to another host.
Crusing the net without really good protective software is like riding the Dragon in shorts and flip flops - it's only a matter of time until the bell tolls for thee. Even the official White House site was recently hacked, so it's obvious that there are no truly 'safe' sites. Be careful out there!

versysred
07-15-2009, 02:49 PM
Sigh another reason I love my mac, never have to worry about stuff like this, never had a problem with this mac and I have had it for 3 years now.

speedversys
07-15-2009, 02:53 PM
Sigh another reason I love my mac, never have to worry about stuff like this, never had a problem with this mac and I have had it for 3 years now.

x2 man I don't have to worry about stuff like this I love mine getting a new one soon.

Jimmyjam
07-15-2009, 03:03 PM
right on guys. Thanks for the work. I am a mac guy for the last 4 years. no issues...ever. no spyware either. Highly reccomend them. Once you go mac.... you won't go back.

Lukejt
07-15-2009, 09:04 PM
I bought a Mac a few months ago. Still don't know how to use most of the stuff. :( Can I burn an MP3 cd on it?

Squier
07-15-2009, 09:38 PM
Three Cheers to the Web master for getting the Hyjack Business taken care. Your appreciated.