Newbie here, appreciate some advice - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 07:32 PM Thread Starter

Newbie here, appreciate some advice

Hi all. New member. I am an older rider who put some 25k miles on a KZ650 in the mid 80's. Have not been on a bike since 1989. My 25 year old son told me he wants to ride cross country with me so, of course, I said yes and got a bike. Found an '08 Versys 650 with very low miles and some sweet farkles like Givi monkey side and back racks, handguards, Go cruise etc. got my permit and signed up for a drivers course. Problem is I am really intimidated by the bike (which I never was in my younger years). It feels big, and fast, and frankly awkward. Was wondering if others of you came back after a really long hiatus and any tips for dealing with these anxieties. Really want to make this trip with my son but severely lacking in confidence at the moment. Thx for any thoughts/suggestions!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 07:40 PM

Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to silviefox
as i say to anyone getting on a bike after a long brake or starting new, take it easy, dont push yourself to hard. practice practice practice practice practice. dont go on a big long trip till you are ready to.. find a big parking lot or good back road and practice practice practice some more, practice making slow sharp turns,practice hard braking, get to know the bike and make sure you have everything set to were its all second nature

yes im a guy. and i have a husband
Silvie=latin for. Of the forest /woods. Fox= Vulpine (also my middle name)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.