Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Old Kawa guy...newbie here...

2K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  SmoothRoad 
#1 ·
Hi there... old Kawa Concours 14 rider decided to buy a Versys as a second bike replacing my ex Super Tenere.
Still debating between a V650 LT and a V1k LT. My brain says V650 and my heart says V1k.

Meanwhile I will be reading some posting to help making up my mind.

#2 ·
:welcome: Had a 09 Versys 650 loved it. Then got an FJR. Now have a 2016 Versys 1000. If i had to do it all over i would get the V-1000. But thats just me....

P1010656 by weljo2001, on Flickr

#3 ·
Olie, if you've been around the connie world for awhile, you know me, and I recently bought a 650LT. I went 650 because I find it doesn't inspire me to lose my license just trying to go for a little relaxing ride. I still have my 14, so if I need to feed the adrenaline junkie, it's parked next to the 650. They are very different bikes... the 1000 is obviously going to be closer in power to the 14, but still the upright seating position, etc. So if you still need the speed, or at least a greater percentage of it, go with the 1000. If you're ready to flower sniff, the 650 is closer to being the bike for you. the 650 will still go pretty well between 5-9 k, but don't expect any of the torque you're used to with the 14. steve

#4 ·
thanks guys for your input... I will be keeping the C14 until a worthy replacement is on the market. This is my second C14 for a total of 94k miles. Also it is my "wife's bike" ... I will need her "blessing" too for its replacement.

I just sold my Super Tenere a couple months ago, my wife hated that bike, but I rode it for over 54k miles including a trip to Panama Canal. Last year alone I put 27.6k miles between my C14 and ST, including also a trip to Nova Scotia on my C14.